Can I expunge my DUI in California?

Asked by: Reggie Padberg  |  Last update: August 21, 2022
Score: 4.3/5 (22 votes)

A DUI may be expunged under California Penal Code Penal Code 1203.4. You can and should expunge a DUI conviction from your criminal record. It is important to note that a California expungement does not affect your DMV record.

How long before you can get a DUI expunged in California?

You are eligible to apply for an expungement at the end of your probation term- there is no 'waiting period' for a DUI expungement in California. You must have fulfilled all terms of your probation (such as Cal Trans, community service, payment of fines, and alcohol school).

How do you get a DUI off your record in California?

The bad news is that there is no way to remove a DUI from your driving record. The good news is, your driving record is not included in a background check and cannot be seen by potential employers. It does not count as a criminal record (although a DUI also goes on your criminal record).

How much does it cost to expunge a DUI in California?

Including Court Costs, ALL Legal Work and Court Appearances:

Infraction Expungement $590* Misdemeanor Expungements $695* Misdemeanor DUI Expungement $820. Felony Expungement $915* (includes a reduction to a misdemeanor when eligible)

How long does a DUI stay on your background check in California?

A DUI will remain on your driving record for a period of 10 years, which starts the day that you were arrested (instead of the date that you were convicted or pled guilty to the charge).

Who Is Eligible For A DUI Expungement In California?

30 related questions found

What happens to a DUI after 10 years in California?

In California, a conviction for driving under the influence (DUI) stays on the defendant's driving record for 10 years after the arrest. It cannot be removed from the driving record during that time. The record of the conviction stays on the defendant's criminal record forever, unless it is expunged.

How long does a DUI affect your insurance in California?

According to Breathe Easy Insurance, a DUI will stay on your driving record for 10 years. The violation will impact your California insurance premiums for seven years.

How long does a DUI stay on your record?

A DUI or DWI usually stays on your driving record for five to 10 years and your insurance record for three to five years. Besides all of the legal trouble that can come with a DUI, your driving record is blemished. A DUI stays on your driving record for five to 10 years in most states.

How do I get my license back after a DUI in California?

To fully reinstate your driving privilege with no restrictions, you must serve your full suspension or restriction, provide the DMV with proof of completion of a DUI program and provide proof of insurance (SR 22). You will be required to maintain the SR 22 for 3 years.

Is a DUI a felony in California?

It's illegal to drive while under the influence of drugs or alcohol in California. While most first-time DUI offenses will be charged as misdemeanors, it is possible for DUI to be a felony. Getting a felony DUI can be devastating. The consequences of a conviction can stay with you for life.

Does a DUI show up on a background check in California?

Driving under the influence is considered a criminal act in the state of California. Both misdemeanor and felony DUI charges are prosecuted in court. A conviction for any DUI will be reported on your criminal record. This means that DUI convictions will show up on your background check.

What does DUI Expungement mean in California?

Getting your DUI “expunged” means getting it removed from most public records. Expunction can be a powerful form of relief after a conviction, because it prevents your DUI from following you around and hampering your life in most ways.

Can I get a CDL with 2 DUI in California?

California is one of the strictest states when it comes to the consequences of DUI's, including getting a commercial driver's license. Two DUI's results in a lifetime ban on applying for a CDL.

How long does it take to expunge a DUI misdemeanor in California?

Time Frame to Complete a DUI Expungement in California

This process may take up to five months once it begins in earnest. You should be aware the expungement may take significantly less time in some circumstances. In certain cases, your expungement may be secured in a month.

Can I go to Canada with a DUI?

You can go to Canada if you have a DUI conviction by acquiring a Temporary Resident Permit entry waiver or becoming rehabilitated through an appropriate government office or border station. If a person has several DUIs, however, applying for a TRP or Criminal Rehabilitation may be onerous.

Can you be a teacher with a DUI in California?

There is No Law Preventing a Person from Becoming a Teacher Due to a DUI Conviction. Strictly speaking, there is no California law that makes it impossible for a teacher to get a teaching license due to a DUI conviction.

How do I get rid of an SR-22 in California?

You can get your SR-22 removed in California after 3 years by notifying your insurance company, which will cancel the SR-22 filing with the state. Sometimes, the DMV will send you a notice letting you know when your SR-22 period is over.

What is the new rule for California drivers?

License points for distracted driving: AB47, which took effect July 1, 2021, puts points on a driver's record for violating the hands-free driving law for a second time within 36 months. That law is meant to prevent talking or texting while driving, unless using a hands-free device.

Does California accept online DUI classes?

The short answer is “no”. The state of California does not recognize any online DUI programs, and the DMV will not reinstate your driver's license if you do not complete the required coursework from an officially licensed California DUI program.

Can I go on a cruise to Mexico with a DUI?

Mexico and Canada Travel Restrictions

You won't have trouble if you're traveling with a DUI/DWI or misdemeanor criminal history. The country is lax when it comes to entering and staying there.

What happens when you get a DUI in California?

For a first-offense DUI in California, consequences for conviction generally include three years of informal probation, fines of $390 plus “penalty assessments” (totally approximately $2000, and completing a first offender alcohol program that consists of a 30-hour class, at a cost of about $500.

Can you get a CDL with a DUI?

If you have blemishes on your driving record, such as a DUI, they will not prevent you from getting a CDL, but they may prevent you from getting the job you set out for. If you have a DUI in your past, having attended a truck driving school will be an asset on your application when you apply for a truck driving job.

How long do you need an SR-22 After a DUI in California?

How Long Must I Maintain My California SR22 Status? In general, your SR22 status must be maintained for at least three years following a DUI-related license suspension. You do not need to refile each year.

How much is insurance with a DUI in California?

In California, a DUI violation can boost your annual car insurance cost by an average of $3,069. That's 64% more than the national average rate hike following a DUI.

Can you get an insurance license with a DUI in California?

Yes. California's licensing application form requires disclosures pertaining to misdemeanor traffic convictions involving vehicle code violations, such as driving under the influence violations, driving without a license, reckless driving or driving on a suspended license and the NIPR and uniform non-resident ...