How long after a car accident can you sue in Illinois?

Asked by: Jaylin Graham  |  Last update: June 22, 2022
Score: 5/5 (16 votes)

Deadlines For Pursuing A Car Accident Claim Under Illinois Law. Illinois' 735 Illinois Compiled Statutes section 5/13-202 says, “Actions for damages for an injury to the person… shall be commenced within two years next after the cause of action accrued.”

How long do you have to file a lawsuit after a car accident in Illinois?

According to Illinois car accident law, actions for damages in regards to the injury of a person must begin within two years after the cause of action. This means that anyone injured in any type of Illinois car accident must file a lawsuit within two years of the date the accident occurred.

How long does an insurance company have to settle a claim in Illinois?

Insurance companies in Illinois have at least 45 days to settle a claim and make a payment after the claim is filed. Illinois insurance companies must also acknowledge a claim within 15 days.

What is the statute of limitations in Illinois for personal injury?

The statute of limitations for a personal injury or wrongful death claim is two years in the state of Illinois. For most personal injury claims, the two-year limit begins on the date the injury occurred. For wrongful death, it begins on the date of death.

How long after accident can you claim?

Car accident claim time limit: Car accidents and road traffic accidents in general have a three-year limit from the date of the accident. If you were left incapacitated and unable to claim for some time after your accident, you would have a three-year limit from the date of recovery.

When Should I Sue After A Car Accident - Dwyer Williams Cherkoss Attorneys

34 related questions found

Can I claim for an accident after 3 years?

The 3-year time limit for making claims

Generally speaking, the standard time limit for making a claim is 3 years. This means you have 3 years to issue your claim at court. This time limit usually applies from the date of the accident when you got injured.

How long after a car crash can you claim whiplash?

Make your whiplash claim in a timely fashion

It is important to recognise there is a time limit in place for making a whiplash claim. You have a period of three years from the date the accident occurred, or from the date when you first became aware of the injury.

Can you sue for emotional distress in Illinois?

For the most part, emotional distress law IL follows the impact rule. According to the impact rule, the victim must be physically hurt as well as mentally suffering in order to claim emotional distress in their lawsuit.

How long do you have to press charges in Illinois?

In Illinois, the general statute of limitations for misdemeanors is 18 months, while the generic limitations period for felonies is three years. See below for statutes of limitations for some specific offenses.

Does Illinois have caps on damages?

In Illinois, there are no caps on damages.

The law was overturned just five years later because the court determined it violated the Illinois Constitution's separation of powers clause. The court ruled that decisions regarding damages should be reserved for judges and juries.

Can a car insurance company refuse to pay a claim?

Section 54 states that the insurer cannot refuse to pay a claim because of some act by you unless the insurer's interests have been prejudiced by that act.

Is Illinois a no-fault state for car accidents?

Illinois is not a no-fault state. Illinois uses a fault-based system for handling car accident cases. An injured driver would generally file a claim against the at-fault driver's insurance policy after an accident.

Do car accident claims go to court?

Although most cases do not make it to court, some do. They are usually cases that fall into one of four categories – complex cases, unresponsive defendants or insurers, cases whereby the defendant is denying liability, and cases where claimants are looking for interim payments.

What is a 50/50 insurance claim?

What is a 50:50 Split Liability Agreement? If an accident has occurred, whereby both parties are equally responsible, it can be determined as a 50:50 split liability. In this case, each party receives half of the money for their claim from the other party's insurance company.

What happens if both drivers are at fault in an accident?

Damages are claimed from the other party's insurance company, which results in an increased insurance rate for both drivers instead of just one driver. If fault is not equally split between both driver's 50/50, then the insurance company will determine a percentage of fault for each driver involved in the accident.

What happens if you don't report an accident within 24 hours?

Failure to report an accident can lead to your policy being declared void by your insurers which could result in you being uninsured in respect of vehicle damage in the event of a later accident.

What's the statute of limitations in Illinois?


The statute of limitations is seven years (735 ILCS 5/12-108(a)). However, Illinois law allows a judgment-creditor to revive an enforcement action within 20 years of the date the judgment was entered (735 ILCS 5/2-1602(a) and 5/13-218).

Does Illinois have statute of limitations?

The criminal statute of limitations is a time limit the state has for prosecuting a crime. Under Illinois law, the statute of limitations depends on the severity of the crime you face, ranging from one year and 6 months to no time limit.

How do police decide to press charges?

In determining whether to pursue a case, the prosecutor will consider the victim's statements and expected level of cooperation. A victim cannot force or require the prosecutor to pursue a case, but the prosecutor is more likely to pursue criminal charges if the victim is cooperative.

Can you sue for alienation of affection in Illinois?

Seven U.S. states currently allow civil tort claims for “criminal conversation” or “alienation of affection.” However, Illinois is not one of them. You cannot sue your spouse's boyfriend or girlfriend for the damage he or she caused to your marriage.

What counts as emotional distress?

Mental suffering as an emotional response to an experience that arises from the effect or memory of a particular event, occurrence, pattern of events or condition. Emotional distress can usually be discerned from its symptoms (ex. Anxiety, depression, loss of ability to perform tasks, or physical illness).

Can you sue someone for emotional damage?

It may be possible for you to sue for emotional distress, depending on your situation. The main factor that will mean you can make a claim is whether someone's negligence caused the harm you first suffered. This could be because you were hurt in an accident that was someone else's fault.

Do insurance companies pay out for whiplash?

Firstly, no insurance provider can provide compensation for a whiplash injury without some form of medical proof.

Can I claim whiplash if the accident wasn't my fault?

When Can I Claim For Whiplash? You may be able to claim if the accident was not your fault and the level of injury you have suffered is severe enough to make a claim. It's unlikely you will be able to claim if the pain lasts only a few days and can be treated effectively with painkillers.

What kind of settlement should I expect from whiplash?

Minor whiplash injuries typically settle for between $10,000 and $100,000. Severe whiplash injuries with life-altering consequences like permanent disability result in higher settlements. Someone with this kind of permanent injury can expect between $1 million and $5 million in a severe whiplash settlement.