How long do you go to jail for drug possession in Mississippi?

Asked by: Ms. Vicenta McLaughlin IV  |  Last update: July 27, 2022
Score: 4.1/5 (34 votes)

If charged as a misdemeanor, penalties include a fine of up to $1,000, up to one year in jail, or both. If charged as a felony, penalties include a fine of up to $10,000, at least one (and up to four) years in prison, or both. (Ms.

What is a felony drug charge in Mississippi?

All drug-related crimes, including possession, distribution, sale, and manufacture, involving a Schedule I and/or Schedule II drug are felonies. Crimes involving less than 1 kilogram, but more than 30 grams of a Schedule I or Schedule II controlled substance are punishable by: A maximum of 30 years in prison, and/or.

How much is a possession charge in Mississippi?

Possession. A first offense for possession of 30 grams or less is punishable by a fine of $100-$250. A subsequent conviction will result in 5-60 days imprisonment and a fine of up to $250. A third conviction will result in 5 days-6 months imprisonment as well as a maximum fine of $1,000.

How do you get a possession charge dismissed in Mississippi?

If you have been arrested, issued a citation, or held for any misdemeanor and not formally charged or prosecuted with an offense within twelve months of arrest, or receives a dismissal of the charge, you must petition the court for an expungement order. Granting of the order is discretionary.

How many Xanax is a felony in MS?

Two to 10 dosage units is a felony that carries two to four years in prison and/or a fine of up to $50,000. 10 to 20 dosage units carries four to 16 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $250,000.

Mississippi Drug Crimes Overview

16 related questions found

How does drug court work in Mississippi?

Drug courts are special courts given the responsibility to handle cases involving substance-abusing offenders through comprehensive supervision, drug testing, treatment services and Immediate sanctions and incentives. Goals: Provide treatment as an alternative to incarceration.

What is the penalty possession of controlled substance in Mississippi?

If charged as a misdemeanor, penalties include a fine of up to $1,000, up to one year in jail, or both. If charged as a felony, penalties include a fine of up to $10,000, at least one (and up to four) years in prison, or both.

How long can you be held in jail without seeing a judge?

As a general rule: If you're placed in custody, your "speedy trial" rights typically require the prosecutor to decide charges within 72 hours. Many states adhere to this 72-hour limit. Sometimes, no charges are filed, and you will be released.

Can 2 people be charged with the same drugs?

Because it is possible for two people to have both the ability and the intent to exercise control over the same item, two different people can both be charged with possessing the same drugs.

What is considered drug paraphernalia in Mississippi?

Paraphernalia is defined as anything used to “plant, propagate, cultivate, grow, harvest, manufacture, compound, convert, produce, process, prepare, test, analyze, pack, repack, store, contain, conceal, inject, ingest, inhale or otherwise introduce into the human body a controlled substance…” This definition can either ...

What is considered drug trafficking in Mississippi?

(2) It is unlawful for any person to deliver, sell, possess with intent to deliver or sell, or manufacture with intent to deliver or sell, paraphernalia, knowing, or under circumstances where one reasonably should know, that it will be used to plant, propagate, cultivate, grow, harvest, manufacture, compound, convert, ...

Can 2 people be tried for same crime?

Overview. The Double Jeopardy Clause in the Fifth Amendment to the US Constitution prohibits anyone from being prosecuted twice for substantially the same crime. The relevant part of the Fifth Amendment states, "No person shall . . . be subject for the same offense to be twice put in jeopardy of life or limb . . . . "

How long can police hold you for drugs?

The police can hold you for up to 24 hours without charge – after that, they have to either charge you or release you.

How long can police hold you before charging?

Generally, the standard time the police can hold you for is 24 hours until they will need to charge you with a criminal offence or release you. In exceptional circumstances, they can apply to hold you for longer, up to 36 or 96 hours. This is usually if you are suspected of more serious crimes such a murder.

Can Family court send you to jail?

But very occasionally, family courts also impose prison sentences. How can this be? In fact, prison is the ultimate penalty possible in cases of contempt of court, where a person is in violation of a court order.

How long does drug court last in Mississippi?

Most Mississippi Drug Court Programs usually lasts one to two years. It depends on how well you deal with the structure that is added to your life. Normally, you are going to be required to be in court on a biweekly basis.

What happens if you fail a drug test on probation in Mississippi?

If you continue to violate your probation by failing drug tests, your probation officer may decide to request that your probation is revoked. A judge will make this decision and then they will decide what your punishment will be. Typically, you will have to finish your sentence in jail if your probation is revoked.

Does Mississippi have drug court?

Drug Courts are funded by special as- sessments on all criminal convictions and traffic violations, as well as fees charged to Drug Court participants. Fees help sus- tain the programs. Mississippi currently has 38 Drug Courts, and additional programs are in the planning stages.

Can police check your phone?

[UPDATE] The answer is both yes...and no. Most of the time, these random checks are done informally by the police. The officer might just ask you questions about yourself and for identification cards for verification purpose.

How long can a police investigation last?

In a routine or less serious case you should expect to hear form the police within 2 to 3 months but in more complicated cases where the police need to obtain statements, forensic evidence, CCTV or expert reports to prosecute you then this could take several months.

What does released on police bail mean?

Bail is the temporary release of a person who is a suspect in an investigation into a crime (police bail), or an accused person awaiting trial (court bail). Bail can sometimes be granted on condition that a sum of money is presented to guarantee the person coming to court.

What is Fifth Amendment right?

noun. an amendment to the U.S. Constitution, ratified in 1791 as part of the Bill of Rights, providing chiefly that no person be required to testify against himself or herself in a criminal case and that no person be subjected to a second trial for an offense for which he or she has been duly tried previously.

Can you be tried again after being acquitted?

The obvious application of double jeopardy is when law enforcement finds new evidence of the defendant's guilt after the jury has already acquitted them. The prosecution cannot charge them again, even if the evidence shows that they probably are guilty.

What does it mean when someone pleads the Fifth?

The Fifth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution guarantees that an individual cannot be compelled by the government to provide incriminating information about herself – the so-called “right to remain silent.” When an individual “takes the Fifth,” she invokes that right and refuses to answer questions or provide ...

How much is a drug paraphernalia ticket in Mississippi?

Drug paraphernalia possession in Mississippi is a misdemeanor with a punishment of up to six months in jail and a fine of $500. That's an even greater penalty than marijuana possession. Marijuana possession of 30 grams or less by a first-time offender is a fine up to $250.