Is shoplifting a felony or misdemeanor in Mississippi?

Asked by: Presley Moen V  |  Last update: February 19, 2022
Score: 4.4/5 (50 votes)

Shoplifting can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony in Mississippi. Two primary factors will dictate which charges you may face: the value of the stolen goods and your history of criminal behavior.

What are the shoplifting laws in Mississippi?

Merchandise value of less than $1,000.

A first or second offense for shoplifting merchandise valued at less than $1,000 carries misdemeanor penalties of by up to six months in jail and a $1,000 fine. A third or subsequent offense involving merchandise valued between $500 and $1,000 carries a three-year felony sentence.

How much is a shoplifting fine in Mississippi?

A person who shoplifts in the state of Mississippi, and is convicted of the offense, for merchandise which is less than or equal to $500 (for a first shoplifting conviction), shall face a fine of not more than $1,000, and/or a jail sentence of not more than six months.

What is petit larceny in Mississippi?

(1) If any person shall feloniously take, steal and carry away any personal property of another under the value of Five Hundred Dollars ($ 500.00), he shall be guilty of petit larceny and, upon conviction, shall be punished by imprisonment in the county jail not exceeding six (6) months or by fine not exceeding One ...

How much stolen money is a felony in Mississippi?

When it comes to grand theft cases in Mississippi, the answer to "can you go to jail for larceny" is most definitely. A petit larceny felony charge will be for an amount of less than $1,000. This dollar amount threshold is the most significant distinction under Mississippi theft laws.

The Difference Between A Felony and A Misdemeanor

41 related questions found

What is considered a felony in Mississippi?

Under Mississippi law, any crime that may be punished by death or incarceration in state prison is considered a felony.

Is receiving stolen property a felony in Mississippi?

Receiving Stolen Property

In Mississippi, a person generally cannot be charged with stealing (larceny) and receiving the same property. If the value of the stolen property is great, then receiving or possessing stolen property is a felony. If the value of the stolen property is lesser, then the charge is a misdemeanor.

What is petty larceny charge?

Petty larceny or petty theft is a term used to describe thefts where the value of the property taken is low. ... Petty larceny is generally a misdemeanor and is punishable by fines or relatively short jail sentence (for example, less than one year).

What is the sentence for grand larceny in Mississippi?

(1) Any person who shall be convicted of taking and carrying away, feloniously, the personal property of another, of the value of One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00) or more, but less than Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000.00), shall be guilty of grand larceny, and shall be imprisoned in the Penitentiary for a term not ...

Is Embezzlement a felony in MS?

In Mississippi, embezzlement generally carries the same punishment as the theft of property of the value or kind embezzled, with the embezzlement of public funds being a felony.

What's considered shoplifting?

"Shoplifting" generally refers to the theft of merchandise from a store or place of business. Shoplifting is a type of larceny, which simply means taking someone else's property without their permission and with the intent to deprive the owner of the property taken.

How do you get a felony expunged in Mississippi?

To get a conviction expunged under this statute, you need to retain a Mississippi expungement lawyer or attorney. A Petition for Expungement must be filed. At the end of the process, should the judge find you have been “rehabilitated”, he will enter the expungement Order.

What is the penalty for embezzlement in Mississippi?

(a) Any person guilty of embezzlement of any goods, rights of action, money, or other valuable security, effects or property of any kind or description with a value of less than One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00), shall be guilty of misdemeanor embezzlement, and, upon conviction thereof, may be sentenced to a term of ...

What is grand larceny charge?

Grand larceny, commonly referred to as grand theft, is a serious criminal offense according to California Penal Code 487 PC which defines this theft crime as the unlawful taking of someone else's property when that property's value is more than $950, the property is a firearm or car, or taken immediately from an ...

Is auto burglary a felony in Mississippi?

Under Mississippi criminal law, automobile burglary is a felony crime. A person is guilty of auto burglary if he: ... (4) with the intent to steal therein, or to commit any felony.

How is embezzlement different from larceny?

With larceny, the property is carried away; it was never in the possession of the perpetrator, the perpetrator never owned it nor had any legal right to possess it. With embezzlement, however, the perpetrator has lawfully possessed the property, but then has converted it into his/her own property.

Is shoplifting a felony?

Shoplifting is one of the most common theft crimes in the United States today. Depending on the value of the property stolen – it can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony offense. ... However, they only steal one-third as much as their adult counterparts.

What is the difference between petty theft and shoplifting?

Petty theft is the theft of goods, services, merchandise or personal property valued at $950 or less and shoplifting generally refers to merchandise taken from a merchant's premises.

Can petty theft charges be dropped?

Yes, in some cases, petty theft charges can be dropped. Defendants can complete a pretrial diversion program, take a plea bargain that reduces the charges, or present prosecutors with exculpatory evidence. All of these strategies often require the legal advice and representation of a theft attorney.

What is uttering forgery in Mississippi?

According to the Mississippi Code 97-21-59, the crime of uttering forgery means that anyone who states, or publishes as true, with the specific intent of defrauding, an instrument which is forged altered or counterfeited, or who states, or publishes as true, with the specific intent of defrauding, any counterfeit gold ...

What is a misdemeanor in Mississippi?

Misdemeanors are crimes that are punishable by less than a year in jail and/or a fine. Crimes that are less serious in nature are often charged as misdemeanors. In Mississippi, misdemeanor crimes include: DUI. Shoplifting (less than $500)

How many Xanax is a felony in Mississippi?

A misdemeanor carries up to a year in jail and a fine of up to $1,000, while a felony has a minimum of one and up to four years in jail and a fine of up to $10,000. Two to 10 dosage units is a felony that carries two to four years in prison and/or a fine of up to $50,000.

What felonies crimes Cannot be expunged in Mississippi?

Convictions for violent felonies, including murder, manslaughter, rape, burglary of a dwelling, and robbery, cannot be expunged. You are eligible for only one expungement under this law. (Miss.

Can embezzlement be expunged in Mississippi?

And like misdemeanors, any felony charge that was dismissed, not prosecuted or in which you were found not guilty can be expunged. (x) Embezzlement as provided in Sections 97-11-25 and 97-23-19.

Is there a statute of limitations on embezzlement in Mississippi?

While the statute of limitations on the majority of crimes committed in Mississippi is 2 years, embezzlement is exempt from having any statute of limitations at all in the state.