What is a Category B offense in Illinois?

Asked by: Mrs. Trudie Kling  |  Last update: July 8, 2022
Score: 4.9/5 (75 votes)

Sec. 102-7.2. "Category B offense". "Category B offense" means a business offense, petty offense, Class C misdemeanor, Class B misdemeanor, Class A misdemeanor, Class 3 felony, or Class 4 felony, which is not specified in Category A.

What is class B misdemeanor in Illinois?

Class B Misdemeanor.

Class B misdemeanors are more serious than Class C misdemeanors, but are not the most serious misdemeanor crime in Illinois. Penalties include up to six months in jail, up to two years of probation, and/or fines of up to $1,500. Examples of Class B misdemeanors in Illinois include: Littering.

What is a Category B bond in Illinois?

Illinois lawmakers focused on what they call “Category B” offenses, which include: Class 3 or 4 felonies; Nonviolent misdemeanors; Business offenses; and. Petty offenses.

Is a Class B misdemeanor an arrestable offense in Illinois?

A Class B misdemeanor in Illinois carries a maximum penalty of up to 6 months (180 days) imprisonment in county jail and a maximum fine of $1,500 plus any mandatory court costs. The defendant may be placed on a period of court supervision, conditional discharge or probation for a maximum of 2 years.

What is a Category A offense in Illinois?

Category A offense" means a Class 1 felony, Class 2 felony, Class X felony, first degree murder, a violation of Section 11-204 of the Illinois Vehicle Code, a second or subsequent violation of Section 11-501 of the Illinois Vehicle Code, a violation of subsection (d) of Section 11-501 of the Illinois Vehicle Code, a ...

Illinois Misdemeanor: Top 3 things you NEED to know

20 related questions found

How long do misdemeanors stay on your record in Illinois?

If you were convicted of a misdemeanor or felony , you can seal 3 years after the end of your last sentence. This also applies if you successfully completed special, qualified probation (like 710-1410 or TASC). Certain convictions may not be sealed until you are no longer required to register.

What is a Class P offense in Illinois?

Petty offenses are those punishable by fine only. They include stop sign and red light vi- olations, most speeding tickets, and lane change violations. Fines range from $1 to $1,000 and are either payable on the day as- sessed or on such later date as the court may direct.

What is a Class B misdemeanor Chicago?

Class B Misdemeanor: A Class B offense carries with it the potential for a maximum fine of up to $1,500 and a potential jail sentence of up to six (6) months. Possession of marijuana in an amount from 2.5 grams to 10 grams, criminal trespass, or telephone harassment are charged as Class B misdemeanors.

How can I get out of a misdemeanor?

While it's true that a misdemeanor conviction can stay with you forever, it is also possible for it to be erased from your record. But this does not happen automatically after you've paid your fines and served your jail sentence. You must file a petition for an expungement to get the information removed.

What are the misdemeanor classifications in Illinois?

Illinois Misdemeanor Penalties

Class A Misdemeanor – Up to 364 days in jail and/or a fine of up to $2500. Class B Misdemeanor – Up to 180 days in jail and/or a fine of up to $1500. Class C Misdemeanor – Up to 30 days in jail and/or a fine of up to $1500.

How much is bail for a misdemeanor in Illinois?

Misdemeanors: All Class A, B, and C traffic misdemeanors require a court appearance. The bond amount for all Traffic and Conservation Class A, B, and C misdemeanors is $2,500 (10 %).

How is bail amount determined in Illinois?

The amount of bail is determined on a case by case basis. It must be large enough to be an incentive to return, but not so large that it can't be paid. A judge will determine the bail amount depending on the offender's financial resources, likelihood of fleeing, past criminal record and the seriousness of the offense.

Do you get your bond money back in Illinois?

After an arrest, you may not be stuck in jail until your criminal trial. You may instead have a chance to pay some money to get out of jail until your court date arrives. The money is essentially a promise to return on that date, at which time you'll also get your money back.

What are misdemeanor offenses?

Depending on the jurisdiction, examples of misdemeanors may include: petty theft, prostitution, public intoxication, simple assault, disorderly conduct, trespass, shoplifting, vandalism, reckless driving, indecent exposure, and possession of cannabis for personal use.

What is Class C misdemeanor in Illinois?

A Class C misdemeanor is the lowest form of a criminal offense in Illinois. Basically, it is one step above a petty offense, a business offense, or an ordinance violation. For those three types of offenses, the court cannot sentence the defendant to a jail or prison sentence.

What is a Class 1 felony in Illinois?

A Class 1 Felony in Illinois is the 2nd most serious class of felonies in the State of Illinois. This class of felony involves very serious crimes, such as criminal sexual assault, possession of heroin/cocaine/opioids and theft that was valued from $10,000 to $100,000.

When a case is dismissed is it still on your record?

If you do end up in court, you will have a court record even if you are found innocent or have your charges dismissed. This record will not show a conviction, but it will show that you were charged and went to court.

How long does a crime stay on your record?

If the person was 18 years of age or older at the time of the offense (i.e. legally considered to be an adult), then the conviction will be expunged from their record 11 years after the conviction date (not the offense date).

Is a speeding ticket a misdemeanor in Illinois?

Regardless of the speed, the maximum charge for speeding in Illinois is a Class A misdemeanor, which applies to speeds 35 mph or more above the limit. Therefore, the maximum penalty is 12 months in jail. Felony offenses carry a minimum sentence of one-year in prison.

What is the maximum sentence that one can serve for misdemeanors?

Usually, the laws related to specific misdemeanor crimes say what the punishment should be. But for any misdemeanors that don't state the punishment in the statute, the maximum penalty is six months in jail and/or a $1,000 fine. (Cal. Penal Code §§ 19, 19.4 (2019).)

What does a Class A misdemeanor mean in Illinois?

Under Illinois law, a Class A misdemeanor is a criminal offense, which carries the most severe penalties of all misdemeanor offenses. If you are charged with a Class A misdemeanor, the maximum potential penalties include up to 364 days in jail, a fine of up to $2,500.00 in addition to mandatory court assessments.

Is a petty offense a crime in Illinois?

"Offense" means a violation of any local ordinance or penal statute of this State. "Petty offense" means any offense punishable by a fine of up to $1,000 and for which a sentence of imprisonment is not an authorized disposition.

What happens if you get 3 speeding tickets in one year in Illinois?

Too many traffic tickets in one year will cause the Illinois Secretary of State to suspend your driver's license. The rule is, 3 convictions for moving violations in 12 months will result in suspension. The suspension is mandatory, not discretionary.

How long do points stay on your license in Illinois?

Traffic violation convictions typically stay on your Illinois driving record for at least five years. If you subsequently maintain a clean driving record, the Secretary of State will typically begin to remove older convictions after that amount of time has passed.

What crimes Cannot be expunged in Illinois?

The following offenses do not qualify for a Certificate of Sealing:
  • Sex offenses.
  • Crimes of violence.
  • Domestic Violence cases, including: Aggravated Assault. Violation of an Order of Protection. Domestic Battery. Aggravated Battery. Aggravated Domestic Battery.
  • Gun cases.
  • Driving Under the Influence cases.