What is a Class C misdemeanor Indiana?

Asked by: Narciso Walter  |  Last update: December 28, 2022
Score: 4.2/5 (57 votes)

So, a Class C Misdemeanor is the least serious charge that can be filed in Indiana. There are infractions and ordinance violations (think speeding tickets and seatbelt tickets, etc.) that are less serious, but these are not criminal charges and generally do not carry any jail time.

How long does a Class C misdemeanor stay on your record in Indiana?

Expungement Timeline in Indiana

If you were convicted of any level of misdemeanor, whether it is a class A, B, or C misdemeanor, you must wait five years from the date of conviction. Additionally, you are required to have a clean criminal history for the last five years from the date you wish to file your petition.

What is the penalty for a Class C misdemeanor in Indiana?

A person convicted of a Class C misdemeanor faces up to 60 days in jail and a fine of up to $500 Examples of class C misdemeanors include possession of drug paraphernalia, reckless driving (no injuries), and use of a fake ID.

How long does a Class A misdemeanor stay on your record in Indiana?

In short, in Indiana, you must wait five years from the date of conviction before expunging a Class A Misdemeanor Conviction.

What are the levels of misdemeanors in Indiana?

Indiana has three types of Misdemeanors: Class A Misdemeanors, Class B Misdemeanors, and Class C Misdemeanors.

Class C Misdemeanor Overview

15 related questions found

What is a Class C infraction in Indiana?

Class C infraction; violation of probationary license. Current as of: 2021 | Check for updates | Other versions. Sec. 6. (a) A person who operates a vehicle in violation of any term of a probationary license issued under this chapter, IC 9-30-6, or IC 9-30-9 commits a Class C infraction.

Do misdemeanors go away in Indiana?

Absolutely. ALL misdemeanor convictions can be expunged under Indiana's Expungement law.

How much does it cost to get your record expunged in Indiana?

In most cases, the filing fee for a petition for expungement is equal to the court's civil filing fee (currently $156 for most courts). The court may reduce or waive this fee if the person is indigent. There is no filing fee for a petition for expungement of an arrest record that did not lead to a conviction.

What are the misdemeanor exceptions in Indiana?

In Indiana, for a misdemeanor, a law enforcement officer can generally only make a warrantless arrest for a crime that is committed in the officer's presence. However, there are exceptions to this rule, including domestic battery and theft.

What is the lowest misdemeanor?

The least serious misdemeanors are classified as Class C or Level Three. These crimes can result in fines and jail time of up to a year, and may also offer the chance of probation. The federal criminal code and the criminal laws of every state divide crimes into two levels, felonies and misdemeanors.

What level is a Class C felony in Indiana?

Level 3 felony = Class B felony. Level 4 felony represents a new category. Level 5 felony = Class C felony. Level 6 felony = Class D felony.

What is the lowest felony charge in Indiana?

Level 6 Felony: A Level 6 felony is the lowest level of felony in Indiana. It carries a penalty upon conviction of a fixed term between six (6) months and two and one half (2 1/2) years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.00.

How do I get a pardon in Indiana?

To be eligible for a pardon, you must be five years removed from the completion of your sentence. Parole and probation are considered part of your sentence. 7. The Governor of Indiana may only pardon you for crimes you committed in Indiana.

How long does a prosecutor have to file charges in Indiana?

For crimes not specifically listed in the statute, a general statute of limitations applies based on the category of the crime. The general time limits are: five years for Level 3, 4, 5, or 6 felonies (Class B, C, or D), and. two years for misdemeanors.

Can I expunge my record?

You can apply to have your criminal record expunged when: a period of 10 years has passed after the date of the conviction for that offence. you have not been convicted and sentenced to a period of imprisonment without the option of a fine during those 10 years.

Does Indiana expungement restore gun rights?

What does this mean? It means that, in Indiana, your firearms rights are restored following an expungement; however, there is one exception: If you were convicted of a misdemeanor or a felony involving domestic violence, your firearm rights cannot be restored through an expungement.

How can I get my record expunged for free in Indiana?

Expungement of Non-Conviction Records
  1. You were acquitted of all felony charges or, alternatively, all felony charges were converted to misdemeanors.
  2. All of the charges against you were dismissed.
  3. At least one year has passed since your arrest and no charges have been filed against you arising from that arrest.

How do you get a misdemeanor expunged?

To expunge a misdemeanor case, an application or petition for expungement is filed to the court that initially handled the criminal case. The district attorney or prosecutor's office must also be served with notification of your request.

Can I get a gun permit with a misdemeanor in Indiana?

Also known as the Lautenberg Amendment, federal law prohibits any person who has been convicted in any court of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence from possessing any firearm or ammunition. See 18 U.S.C.

When a case is dismissed is it still on your record?

If you do end up in court, you will have a court record even if you are found innocent or have your charges dismissed. This record will not show a conviction, but it will show that you were charged and went to court.

What is alternative misdemeanor sentencing Indiana?

At the time of sentencing, under IC 35-38-1-1.5, Alternative Misdemeanor Sentencing, or AMS, allows the court to enter a conviction as a Level 6 Felony with the express condition that the conviction will be reduced to a misdemeanor if certain conditions are met, including the consent of the prosecuting attorney.

Is a speeding ticket a misdemeanor in Indiana?

Speeding in Indiana referred to as an Infraction. This is a civil offense, compared to something like public intoxication which is a misdemeanor. Essentially, being cited with an infraction means that you have to pay a civil fine.

What is a misdemeanor charge?

Under federal law and in most states, a misdemeanor is a criminal offense that carries a potential jail term of less than one year. Some states define a misdemeanor as a crime that is not a felony or an infraction. Just as infractions are sorted into classes misdemeanors are as well.

How long do you go to jail for failure to appear in Indiana?

Penalties for Failure to Appear

The penalty for a Class A misdemeanor is up to one year in jail and a fine up to $5,000. The penalty for a Level 6 felony is between six months to two and a half years' incarceration and a fine up to $10,000.