What states haven't passed the ERA?

Asked by: Prof. Pinkie Davis DVM  |  Last update: February 19, 2022
Score: 4.1/5 (41 votes)

The 15 states that did not ratify the Equal Rights Amendment before the 1982 deadline were Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Nevada, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Utah, and Virginia.

How many states still need to ratify the ERA?

Amending the Constitution is a two-step process, requiring first passage by Congress, then ratification by three-fourths of the states. Five decades after the ERA was approved by Congress in 1972, Virginia ratified the amendment in 2020, and the quorum of 38 states was finally reached.

How many states voted to ratify the ERA and did not rescind?

Congress had originally set a ratification deadline of March 22, 1979, for the state legislatures to consider the ERA. Through 1977, the amendment received 35 of the necessary 38 state ratifications.

Which five states rescinded their ratification of the ERA?

Five states -- Alabama, Louisiana, Nebraska, South Dakota, and Tennessee -- had also intervened in the case as defendants. Nebraska, South Dakota, and Tennessee all voted to rescind their ratifications of the ERA between 1973 and 1979.

Which states have not ratified the 14th amendment?

Here are the states that have not voted to ratify the amendment:
  • Alabama.
  • Arizona.
  • Arkansas.
  • Florida.
  • Georgia.
  • Louisiana.
  • Mississippi.
  • Missouri.

New Rule: How the Left Was Lost | Real Time (HBO)

30 related questions found

What happened to the states that refused to ratify the 14th Amendment?

With all southern states other than Tennessee refusing to ratify the 14th Amendment, the federal government passes the Reconstructions Acts, dividing the South into five military zones. Former Confederate states are required to ratify the amendment to be allowed back into the Union.

Has the ERA been passed?

What Is the ERA's Current Status? In 2017, Nevada became the first state in 45 years to pass the ERA, followed by Illinois in 2018 and Virginia in 2020! Now that the necessary 38 states have ratified, Congress must eliminate the original deadline. A joint resolution was introduced in Congress currently to do just that.

Has the ERA been ratified in all 50 states?

The Equal Rights Amendment was passed by Congress on March 22, 1972 and sent to the states for ratification. In order to be added to the Constitution, it needed approval by legislatures in three-fourths (38) of the 50 states. By 1977, the legislatures of 35 states had approved the amendment.

Was the Equal Rights Amendment passed?

On October 12, 1971, the U.S. House of Representatives passed the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA) in an overwhelmingly bipartisan vote of 354 to 24, and the Senate passed it the following year by a vote of 84 to 8. The initial effort to ratify the ERA in the 1970s fell three states short.

Which of these three states did not ratify the ERA?

The states that did not ratify the ERA included Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Nevada, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Utah, and Virginia.

Did Florida pass the Equal Rights Amendment?

Florida lawmakers could vote to protect equal rights this fall — but it will take all of us speaking up to demand action on the ERA first. Dear Florida Equality Warriors, We are in an epic legal battle to ensure the U.S. Government adopts the Equal Rights Amendment now that it has been ratified by the 38th state.

Which of these three states ratified the ERA?

Virginia, Illinois and Nevada—the last three states to ratify the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA)—sued US archivist David Ferriero in the US District Court for the District of Columbia on Thursday in a bid to force the addition of the ERA to the US Constitution. The House first passed an equal rights amendment in 1970.

Has the ERA been added to the Constitution?

The Equal Rights Amendment was first proposed nearly a century ago and has still not been added to the U.S. Constitution. ... Men and women shall have equal rights throughout the United States and every place subject to its jurisdiction.

Why did Phyllis Schlafly oppose feminism?

Development of anti-feminist policies

Schlafly's policies were in dispute with those of feminists like Betty Friedan; for instance, Schlafly argued that the ERA was "a direct threat to the protection that mothers and working women enjoyed in American society".

What was the primary purpose of the failed Equal Rights Amendment?

A constitutional amendment originally introduced in Congress in 1923 and passed by Congress in 1972, stating that "equality of rights under the law shall not be denied or abridged by the United States or by any state on account of sex." Despite public support, the amendment failed to acquire the necessary support from ...

What is the 45th amendment of the United States?

The full text of the amendment is: Section 1—In case of the removal of the President from office or of his death or resignation, the Vice President shall become President.

Which 4 states did not ratify the Constitution?

Only Governor Edmund Randolph (Virginia), George Mason (Virginia), and Elbridge Gerry (Massachusetts) declined to sign. The Founding Fathers now had to get the states to agree to the document and to vote in favor of it.

Why should the ERA be passed?

The Equal Rights Amendment is needed in order to prevent a rollback of women's rights by conservative or reactionary political votes. The ERA will promote laws and court decisions that fairly take into account women's, as well as men's, experiences.

How many states require an amended Convention?

Congress must call a convention for proposing amendments upon application of the legislatures of two-thirds of the states (i.e., 34 of 50 states). Amendments proposed by Congress or convention become valid only when ratified by the legislatures of, or conventions in, three-fourths of the states (i.e., 38 of 50 states).

Why is the ERA important?

The ERA is a constitutional amendment which would prohibit denying or abridging equal rights under law by the United States or any state on account of sex. This critical amendment would guarantee the equal rights of men and women by: ... Ensuring that government programs and federal resources benefit men and women equally.

What was a major reason the 26th amendment was ratified?

Mitchell that Congress could not lower the voting age for state and local elections. Recognizing the confusion and costs that would be involved in maintaining separate voting rolls and elections for federal and state contests, Congress quickly proposed and the states ratified the Twenty-sixth Amendment.

What is the 27th amendment say?

No law, varying the compensation for the services of the Senators and Representatives, shall take effect, until an election of Representatives shall have intervened.

Who has to approve the Constitution?

Instead, on September 28, Congress directed the state legislatures to call ratification conventions in each state. Article VII stipulated that nine states had to ratify the Constitution for it to go into effect. Beyond the legal requirements for ratification, the state conventions fulfilled other purposes.

What was one reason why the Equal Rights Amendment failed quizlet?

What was one reason why the equal rights amendment failed? Many people feared potential unintended effects of the amendment because it was vaguely worded.

Why did Southern states refused to ratify the 14th Amendment?

Southerners thought the 14th Amendment had been passed to punish them for starting the Civil War, and they refused to ratify it. Indeed there were sections which prevented ex-Confederates from voting, holding office, or being paid back for lending money to the Confederacy.