How much is a divorce in Texas?

Asked by: Dr. Providenci Bins DVM  |  Last update: July 26, 2023
Score: 4.4/5 (58 votes)

Other divorce costs are not mandatory, but dealing with the divorce can be extremely complicated without legal representation or aid. Thus, the average total cost of divorce in Texas is about $15,000 if no children are involved and $23,000 if child-related issues must be resolved.

How much does it cost to file for a divorce in Texas?

You must pay a filing fee if you are filing for divorce in Texas. The court filing fees will vary depending on the county in which you file, but it is typically between $250 and $320. In some cases, you may be able to get a waiver of legal fees if you can demonstrate that you cannot afford to pay them.

How much is a divorce in Texas if both parties agree?

How Much Does an Uncontested Divorce Cost in Texas? The average cost of uncontested divorce in Texas ranges between $300 and $5,000, depending on whether lawyers are involved.

How long does a divorce take in Texas?

How Long Does a Divorce Take in Texas? Texas law requires a 60-day waiting period from the day a person files for divorce. An average divorce in Texas usually takes six months to a year, depending on the complexity of the case. A simple uncontested divorce could take as little as two-to-three months.

What is the least expensive way to divorce in Texas?

The cheapest way to get a divorce in Texas is by filing an uncontested divorce, where both parties agree on all terms.

Don't Make These 5 Mistakes in an Uncontested Divorce

34 related questions found

How do you qualify for a free divorce in Texas?

If you can't afford the expenses of filing for divorce, there are some options available to you. You can request that the court waive the court fees by filing an Affidavit of Inability to Pay Court Costs. You can also ask the judge to issue temporary orders for financial support before the divorce is final.

Can I get a quick divorce in Texas?

Except for situations involving domestic abuse or where one spouse has been convicted of a crime, sixty days is the shortest possible time frame for a Texas quickie divorce. The sixty-day waiting period allows you and your spouse to reflect on your decision to get divorced.

What is the 10 year rule in divorce in Texas?

Spousal Maintenance and the 10 Year Marriage

Alimony – or spousal maintenance in Texas Law – is rarely awarded in Texas divorces. However, the likelihood of court ordered spousal maintenance increases for couples married at least 10 years.

Can I date while separated in Texas?

Can you date someone while going through a divorce in Texas? Yes, there is no law in Texas preventing you from dating while your divorce is pending. However, it's generally advised against due to potential negative consequences on your case. It's best to consult with a divorce lawyer for guidance.

Do you have to wait 6 months to get a divorce in Texas?

There are statutory waiting periods for Texas divorces. As Christine explains, “It takes a minimum of 60 days to get divorced in Texas, because Texas has a mandatory waiting period. In addition, one of the spouses has to have been a resident of Texas for a continuous six-month period before filing for divorce.

Is Texas divorce online legit?

Overview of Online Divorce in Texas

An online divorce in Texas is a legally binding dissolution of a marriage. The result is the same as if you had gone to court in person. For folks who can't afford (or don't want to hire) an attorney for divorce in Texas, many new online services provide a do-it-yourself method.

How do I prepare for divorce in Texas?

Here are some steps you can take to effectively prepare yourself for divorce.
  1. Consider Closing Joint Accounts. ...
  2. Change Your Passwords and Mailing Addresses. ...
  3. Build Your Own Savings. ...
  4. Protect Your Credit. ...
  5. Get Organized. ...
  6. Speak to a Therapist. ...
  7. Plan Your Custody Case. ...
  8. Contact a Texas Divorce Attorney.

What are the steps to get a divorce in Texas?

Basic steps to filing a divorce in Texas
  1. Filing the petition. One of the parties must first file a petition with the court called the “Original Petition for Divorce” (along with paying the requisite court fee). ...
  2. Legal notice. ...
  3. The hearing. ...
  4. The final decree. ...
  5. The assistance of a family law attorney.

What am I entitled to if I divorce my husband in Texas?

The wife in a divorce case is entitled to an equal division of the community property. This means that if the couple has $100,000 in assets, the wife would be entitled to $50,000 of those assets.

How long do you have to be separated before divorce in TX?

There are no requirements for marriage separation in Texas prior to filing for divorce. As long as one spouse has been a domiciliary of the state for six months and a resident of the county for 90 days, the divorce can be filed.

Why is divorce so expensive?

What makes a divorce so expensive has a lot to do with conflict and disagreements. Frequent miscommunication doesn't help to lower costs, either. If you can handle your case using an alternative method to litigation, you're likely to find yourself saving some money.

Does infidelity matter in Texas divorce?

Unlike many other states, Texas courts can and do consider infidelity when making decisions about the outcome of a divorce.

Is Texas an alimony state?

Texas does have alimony, but Texas law favors alimony payments that are decided in private contracts as a part of divorce settlements over court ordered alimony. Texas does, however, allow for alimony or spousal support payments to be ordered, but there are very strict requirements that determine who is eligible.

Can I have a girlfriend during divorce?

It's unlikely that a judge would order an outright ban on dating during the divorce, but this doesn't mean that a court won't punish a dating spouse if that spouse uses marital funds to date, introduces an unsavory individual to the children, or otherwise affects the family and/or marital finances during the divorce.

How many years do you have to be married to get alimony in Texas?

Texas Alimony Qualifications

You must meet certain qualifications to be eligible to receive alimony in a Texas divorce. Specifically, the spouse seeking maintenance must be unable to meet their basic needs financially. Additionally, in most cases, the marriage must have lasted for at least 10 years.

Who gets to keep the house in a Texas divorce?

The most common type of real estate divided during a divorce is the marital home. If one spouse wants to stay in the home, they can agree to keep the house and the debt associated with the house. The parties may also agree that one spouse will keep the house and give the other spouse half of the equity.

How many months after divorce can you remarry in Texas?

Short Answer: In Texas, you need to wait 30 days after the judge signs your final divorce decree before you can legally remarry. But don't click away just yet! There's more to this waiting game than meets the eye, and we're about to spill the beans.

How long after divorce can you remarry?

Once you have received your Decree Absolute confirming your divorce, you can remarry immediately. There is no waiting period before getting married again.

Can you get a divorce without the other person signing in Texas?

In Texas, one spouse refusing to sign divorce papers does not completely stop a divorce from proceeding. If one spouse is seeking a divorce, they can still achieve it whether or not the other spouse cooperates and signs the papers.

Does Texas have no fault divorce?

No fault divorces are the most common type of divorce in Texas. In this case, the two spouses agree that they do not want to be married anymore and jointly agree to file a no-fault divorce. This formally states that neither party is to blame or guilty of any misconduct that caused the marriage to end.