Is a Class 4 felony Probationable in Illinois?Asked by: Jamir Kemmer | Last update: February 19, 2022
Score: 4.7/5 (37 votes)
A Class 4 Felony is punishable with a minimum term of imprisonment of 1 year up to a maximum of 3 years. See 730 ILCS 5/5-4.5-45. These offenses are generally probationable.
How serious is a Class 4 felony in Illinois?
Although a Class 4 felony is the least serious of all felony charges, it still is a serious charge, with serious punishments. A prison sentence for a Class 4 felony conviction is 1 to 3 years, and Class 4 felony convictions can also include fines of up to $25,000.
Can a Class 4 felony be reduced to a misdemeanor Illinois?
Once a conviction is entered, in Illinois, the felony charges cannot be reduced to misdemeanor charges. ... Some class 4 felony drug charges can be expunged.
Can I get on probation with a class 4 felony in Illinois?
Probation is possible for a class 4 felony charge. Probation can be sentenced up to 30 months. Whether an offender gets probation is entirely up to the circumstances of the case.
Can you expunge a Class 4 felony in Illinois?
If you have been convicted of a Class 3 or Class 4 felony that was not listed above and was not a crime of violence, a sex offense, a domestic violence offense, a gun offense or a Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol offense, then you may be eligible for a Certificate of Sealing.
Class 4 Felony In IIlinois
What felonies Cannot be expunged in Illinois?
It doesn't matter who you are or whether your crime was a misdemeanor or felony, but you can never seal: Sex offenses. Violent crimes. Domestic violence crimes (including assault, violation of an order of protection, domestic battery, aggravated battery, aggravated assault and aggravated domestic battery)
What crimes Cannot be expunged in Illinois?
- Animal care crimes.
- Crimes that require you to register as a sex offender.
- Crimes that require you to register as an arsonist.
- Domestic battery.
- Driving under the influence.
- Many violent crimes and murder.
Can you drink alcohol while on probation in Illinois?
Terms of Probation
For instance, your probation will require you to meet with your assigned probation officer on a regular schedule and appear at all court hearings. Terms of probation typically prohibit you from committing further crimes, using illegal drugs, or drinking.
How does probation end in Illinois?
Illinois law allows a court to terminate an offender's probation if the conduct of the offender justifies ending probation early and if doing so is consistent with the “ends of justice.” In other words, an offender who can prove to the judge that their actions during the probation term justify ending the probation ...
How do Illinois courts decide to grant probation?
Illinois law requires that if a person is found guilty of sex offense, in order to receive probation, they must undergo a sex offender evaluation and consent to treatment.
What does a Class 4 felony carry in Illinois?
Under Illinois law, a prison sentence for a Class 4 felony conviction must fall within 1 to 3 years. Class 4 felony convictions can also include fines of up to $25,000. All convictions in Illinois, whether felony or misdemeanor, will remain on your criminal record unless you are pardoned or get the charge expunged.
What crimes have no statute of limitations in Illinois?
In cases of criminal sexual assault, aggravated criminal sexual assault, predatory criminal sexual assault of a child, aggravated criminal sexual abuse, or felony criminal sexual abuse where the victim is a minor, there is no statute of limitations.
When can you get a felony expunged in Illinois?
If you received qualified probation for any felony or misdemeanor, you are statutory eligible for expungement 5 years after the successful completion of qualified probation. If you are not eligible to have your criminal records expunged, there are other options you may be able to take advantage of.
What is a Class 4?
Class 4: Class 4 felonies are punishable by fines of $2,000 to $500,000 and 2 to 6 years in prison. Examples of Class 4 felonies are sexual assault, manslaughter, vehicular homicide, and identity theft.
What is the lowest felony you can get?
So, exactly what is a 4th Degree felony then? In states who apply this category of crimes, it is the least serious type of felony offense that a defendant can be charged with and is one step above the most serious level of misdemeanor offenses.
Which felony is the highest?
A class A felony and a level 1 felony are considered the highest class – or worst felony – and carry the most severe punishments. Criminal codes at both the state and the federal levels categorize felony crimes by seriousness, with the first class or level being the most severe.
What is felony probation in Illinois?
Types of Felonies in Illinois
A probation period of up to 2.5 years is available for most class 4 felonies. If an extended term sentence applies, the possible term of imprisonment ranges from 3-6 years. Class 3 felonies are punishable by 2-5 years in prison and a 1-year mandatory supervised release period.
What does felony probation mean?
Felony probation is a part of the criminal case process allowing a convicted felon to serve their sentence out of custody. ... However, unlike misdemeanor probation, anyone on felony probation will be under the supervision of a probation officer.
What are the rules of probation in Illinois?
These conditions can include that the probationer must report to a probation officer as directed, cannot violate any criminal statutes, must not possess a firearm, must not leave the state without permission, perform community service, submit to drug testing, pay restitution, fines, court costs, complete drug and ...
Can you drink on parole in Illinois?
Conditions of Probation in Illinois
They cannot use drugs or alcohol and must give up any firearms they own. Conditions of probation also include not contacting any victims of their crime and usually adhering to a curfew. Mandatory drug testing, rehab, and counseling may also be part of the sentence.
What is qualified probation Illinois?
Illinois law allows you to expunge certain felonies from your record. ... For the purposes of expungement, these types of probation are referred to as “Qualified Probation.” They all allow you to finish your case without a conviction.
How long does alcohol stay in urine?
Alcohol detection tests can measure alcohol in the blood for up to 6 hours, on the breath for 12 to 24 hours, urine for 12 to 24 hours (72 or more hours with more advanced detection methods), saliva for 12 to 24 hours, and hair for up to 90 days.
How much does it cost to get a felony expunged in Illinois?
Getting your record expunged or sealed will cost you a filing fee at the courthouse plus $60 for the Illinois State Police. Some local law enforcement agencies may also charge a processing fee.
How do you get felonies expunged?
How to Request a Felony Expungement. The process for expunging a felony charge and/or conviction also varies state to state but will typically require filing a petition with the court that originally heard your case. The district attorney or prosecutor's office must also be notified of your request.
Does a conviction ever go away?
If you've been convicted of a criminal offence, you will usually then have a criminal record. ... Fortunately, as a general rule, many criminal convictions will not remain on your record forever.