What are the 4 labour codes Upsc?

Asked by: Mr. Mathias Rohan DVM  |  Last update: February 19, 2022
Score: 4.2/5 (31 votes)

About the labour codes: The new set of regulations consolidates 44 labour laws under 4 categories of Codes namely, Wage Code; Social Security Code; Occupational Safety, Health & Working Conditions Code; and the Industrial Relations Code.

What are the 4 labour codes?

The four labour codes -- the Code on Wages, Industrial Relations Code, Social Security Code and the Occupational Safety, Health and Working Conditions Code -- are set to replace 29 labour laws.

Why is there a new Labour code?

The new labour codes are aimed at facilitating ease of doing business in the country and seek to replace 29 cumbersome laws. The objective is to encompass over 500 million organized and unorganized sector workers—90% of the workforce which has been outside labour laws.

How many types are there of labour law?

There are two broad categories of labour law. First, collective labour law relates to the tripartite relationship between employee, employer and union. Second, individual labour law concerns employees' rights at work and through the contract for work.

What is the meaning of labour codes?

A labour code, (also called a code of labour laws) is a codification of labour laws in legislative form.

4 Labour Codes Explained | Labour Reforms | UPSC | Current Affairs | Launchpad IAS

41 related questions found

What are the 3 new labour codes?

India: Changes In New Labour Codes
  • The Code on Wages, 2019;
  • The Industrial Relations Code, 2020;
  • The Occupational Safety, Health and Working Conditions Code, 2020; and.
  • The Code on Social Security, 2020.

How many labour laws are there in India?

The Indian parliament passed four labour codes in 2019 and 2020 sessions. These four codes will consolidate 44 existing labour laws.

How many types of labour are there in India?

India's Ministry of Labour, in its 2008 report, classified the unorganised labour in India into four groups. This classification categorized India's unorganised labour force by occupation, nature of employment, specially distressed categories and service categories.

What is the collective labour law?

Collective labour law refers to the employment laws which relate to trade unions, rather than individual employment law rights. ... The module also considers the manner in which the judiciary has interpreted these legal provisions and the social and political context in which the area of collective labour laws operates.

Is 4 day work week for government employees?

With the implementation of the new codes there will be a change in a number of aspects relating to work culture and employment in the country. ... This news also came days after the United Arab Emirates became the first country across the globe to implement a four and a half-day working week for all government employees.

What is India's new Labour Law 2021?

The new labour codes may usher in a four-day workweek, as opposed to the current five-day workweek from 2022-23. With this, an employee will be able to enjoy a 3-day holiday/week, however, they will have to work for 12 hours on those four days to keep the weekly work hours in check.

Is Labor Code applicable to government employees?

The provisions of this Title shall apply to employees in all establishments and undertakings whether for profit or not, but not to government employees, managerial employees, field personnel, members of the family of the employer who are dependent on him for support, domestic helpers, persons in the personal service of ...

What is Article 283 of the labor code?

283 of the Labor Code states that an employee can be terminated due to business reasons such as: installation of labor-saving devices; redundancy; retrenchment (reduction of costs) to prevent losses; or.

What is the new wage code in India?

New Delhi: The New Wage Code is all set to be implemented from the next financial year, i.e 2022-23. According to media reports, the new wage code can be implemented anytime after April 2022. According to the new rules, Basic Salary will be at least 50 per cent of the net Cost To the Company (CTC).

What are the different Labour laws in India?

The Government of India now has four Labour Codes: the Code on Wages, 2019; the Industrial Relations Code, 2020; the Occupational Safety, Health and Working Conditions Code, 2020; and the Code on Social Security, 2020.

What are the types of collective agreement?

Collective bargaining can include wages, working conditions, union rights, maternity and paternity leave. Mainly it involves negotiations. But, mediation, arbitration, strike and lock-out actions can be part of the process. A collective agreement binds parties for a stipulated period of time.

Who are covered by the labor code?

Article 82 of the Labor Code states that employees under all establishments and undertakings need to complete a certain set of working hours, except: Government employees. Managerial employees. Field personnel.

What is an example of a labor law?

What Are Labor Laws? ... Examples of workers' compensation laws include the Longshore and Harbor Workers' Compensation Act, the Energy Employees Occupational Illness Compensation Program, the Federal Employees' Compensation Act and the Black Lung Benefits Act.

What is labour and its types?

Factors of Production – Labour. Labour actually means any type of physical or mental exertion. In economic terms, labour is the efforts exerted to produce any goods or services. It includes all types of human efforts – physical exertion, mental exercise, use of intellect, etc.

What is Article 162 of the Labor Code?

162. Safety and health standards. ... The Department of Labor and Employment shall develop and implement training programs to increase the number and competence of personnel in the field of occupational safety and industrial health.

What is labor and civil code?

It prescribes the rules for hiring and termination of private employees; the conditions of work including maximum work hours and overtime; employee benefits such as holiday pay, thirteenth month pay and retirement pay; and the guidelines in the organization and membership in labor unions as well as in collective ...

What are the three 3 kinds of employees and define?

Instead, I'm referring to the three different types of employees as identified by the Gallup organization: engaged, not engaged, and actively disengaged. The categories are fairly self-explanatory.

What is 4 day work week India?

India may soon have a 4-day work week from next year instead of the current 5-day work week. While this is the good news, the bad news is that employees will have to work for 12 hours on all those four days a labour ministry has announced that the 48-hour weekly work requirements must be met.