What are the subordinate courts?

Asked by: Jadon Pagac  |  Last update: February 19, 2022
Score: 4.3/5 (37 votes)

More Definitions of Subordinate Courts
Subordinate Courts means the Courts and offices of the Additional District Judges, Chief Judicial Magistrate, Civil Judges (Sr. Divn.), Civil Judges (Jr. Divn.), Registrars and offices of other Judicial Magistrates; and.

What are the different types of subordinate courts?

In each district of India there are various types of subordinate or lower courts. They are civil courts, criminal courts and revenue courts.

What are subordinate courts Class 8?

The courts that most people interact with are what are called subordinate or district courts which are usually at the district or Tehsil level or in towns and they hear many kinds of cases. Each state is divided into several districts that are presided over by a District Judge.

What do you mean by subordinate courts?

Subordinate courts, on the criminal side (in ascending order of hierarchy) are, First Class Judicial Magistrate Court, Chief Judicial Magistrate Court. Certain matters on criminal side or civil side cannot be tried by a court lesser than a district court.

What are the subordinate courts in India?

Subordinate courts, on the civil side (in ascending order) are, Junior Civil Judge Court, Principal Junior Civil Judge Court, Senior Civil Judge Court (also called sub-court).

Indian Judiciary: Subordinate Courts | District Judge, Session Judge, Revenue Court

26 related questions found

What are subordinate courts Class 9?

High court has complete authority and control over its officers and employees. ... The subordinate courts include the District Judges, Judges of the city civil courts, Metropolitan magistrates and members of the judicial service of the state.

What are subordinate courts Class 11?

The state judiciary consists of a high court and a hierarchy of subordinate courts, also known as lower courts. The subordinate courts are so-called because of their subordination to the state high court. They function below and under the high court at district and lower levels.

What do you mean by PIL Class 8?

Public interest Litigation” or PIL is a litigation filed in a court of law, for the protection of “Public Interest”, such as pollution, terrorism, road safety, constructional hazards etc. ... Court on behalf of those whose rights are being violated.

What is the full form of PIL?

Public interest litigation is the use of the law to advance human rights and equality, or raise issues of broad public concern. It helps advance the cause of minority or disadvantaged groups or individuals.

What are the different names for subordinate courts Class 8?

High Court of Madras High Court of Karnataka 2015-16 Page 8 59 The subordinate court is more commonly known by many different names. These include the Trial Court or the Court of the District Judge, the Additional Sessions Judge, Chief Judicial Magistrate, Metropolitan Magistrate, Civil Judge.

How many types of subordinate courts are there in a district?

In every district there are subordinate civil, family, criminal and revenue Courts. Appeals against the decisions of the lower courts are taken to the High Court of the State. 1.

What are the two types of courts?

Types of courts

Basic distinctions must be made between criminal and civil courts, between courts of general jurisdiction and those of limited jurisdiction, and between appellate and trial courts. There are also constitutional, federal, and transnational courts.

What is the other name for subordinate court?

Subordinate courts are also known as Tehsil courts and district courts.

What is PIL and Sal?

However, for our purposes, Social Action Litigation (SAL) and Public Interest Litigation (PIL) are synonymous. PIL, however, continues to be the popularly used term.

Which is the apex court in India?

Supreme Court of India came into existence on 26th January, 1950 and is located on Tilak Marg, New Delhi. The Supreme Court of India functioned from the Parliament House till it moved to the present building.

What is PIL Upsc?

About: Public Interest Litigation (PIL) is the use of the law to advance human rights and equality, or raise issues of broad public concern.

What are the types of courts in India?

There are four types of courts in India, i.e., Supreme Court, High Court, District Court, and subordinate courts.

How are subordinate courts important in India?

Conclusion. Subordinate Courts form an important part of the Indian Judicial System. They are helpful in the speedy justice delivery for the large population of the country. Thus, the makers of the Constitution have given an important role for Subordinate Courts.

What are the 3 judicial systems?

The judicial system of India is mainly consisting of three types of courts- the Supreme Court, The High Courts and the subordinate courts.

Is Lok Adalat a court?

Lok Adalats have been given statutory status under the Legal Services Authorities Act, 1987. Under the said Act, the award (decision) made by the Lok Adalats is deemed to be a decree of a civil court and is final and binding on all parties and no appeal against such an award lies before any court of law.

What are the 3 types of courts in the Indian judicial system?

The court system of India comprises the Supreme Court of India, the High Courts and subordinate courts at district, municipal and village levels.

What are the 4 types of jurisdiction?

There are four main types of jurisdiction (arranged from greatest Air Force authority to least): (1) exclusive federal jurisdiction; (2) concurrent federal jurisdic- tion; (3) partial federal jurisdiction; and (4) proprietary jurisdiction.

What are Article 3 courts special?

Article III of the Constitution governs the appointment, tenure, and payment of Supreme Court justices, and federal circuit and district judges. These judges, often referred to as “Article III judges,” are nominated by the president and confirmed by the U.S. Senate.

How many courts are in India?

There are 25 High Courts in India. The Calcutta High Court, established in 1862, is the oldest High Court in India. The Bombay and Madras High Courts were also established in the same year. The newest High Courts are the Telangana Court and Andhra Pradesh High Court, both established in the year 2019.