What is collegium of Judges?

Asked by: Ms. Kaylah Rutherford  |  Last update: July 19, 2022
Score: 4.3/5 (56 votes)

Article Nine of the Earth Constitution establishes a Collegium of World Judges of 40 to 60 highly qualified members of the Judiciary from which the various benches of the World Supreme Court System are staffed.

How many judges are in a collegium?

The Supreme Court collegium headed by Chief Justice NV Ramana on Tuesday recommended the elevation of five judges as Chief Justices of various high courts. The collegium in a meeting held today took the decision and the resolution was uploaded on the Supreme Court website.

What is Collegium?

What is a Collegium System and How Did It Evolve? It is the system of appointment and transfer of judges that has evolved through judgments of the Supreme Court (SC), and not by an Act of Parliament or by a provision of the Constitution.

Who are the members of the collegium?

Presently, the Members of Collegium are:
  • N. V. Ramana (Chief Justice of India)
  • Uday Umesh Lalit (Judge)
  • Ajay Manikrao Khanwilkar (Judge)
  • Dhananjaya Yeshwant Chandrachud (Judge)
  • L. Nageswara Rao (Judge)

How the judges are appointed?

The Union Law Minister presents the CJI's final recommendation to the Prime Minister, who then advises the President of India in appointing the Supreme Court judges.


16 related questions found

How many types of judges are there?

Subordinate courts, on the civil side (in ascending order) are, Junior Civil Judge Court, Principal Junior Civil Judge Court, Senior Civil Judge Court (also called sub-court).

How many types of judges are there in India?

There are four types of courts in India, i.e., Supreme Court, High Court, District Court, and subordinate courts.

What is Supreme Court collegium?

What is the Collegium System? It is a system under which appointments and transfers of judges are decided by a forum of the Chief Justice of India and the four senior-most judges of the Supreme Court. It has no place in the Indian Constitution.

Who introduced collegium system in India?

When was Collegium adopted in India? The Second Judges Case (1993) introduced the Collegium system, holding that “consultation” really meant “concurrence”. It added that it was not the CJI's individual opinion, but an institutional opinion formed in consultation with the two senior-most judges in the Supreme Court.

Which is biggest court in India?

The Chief Justice's Court is the largest of the Courts located in the Centre of the Central Wing. The original Constitution of 1950 envisaged a Supreme Court with a Chief Justice and 7 puisne Judges - leaving it to Parliament to increase this number.

Who appoints collegium?

A High Court collegium – the chief justice of the High Court along with its two senior-most judges – must send a recommendation to the chief minister and the governor of the state.

What is a 3 Judge bench called?

A bench of two or three judges is called a division bench. The Supreme Court Rules vests Chief Justice of India, the power to constitute benches as part of his administrative responsibilities.

What is 4th judges case?

Change - In what might now be called the Fourth Judges Case (2015), the court upheld the primacy of the collegium. More importantly it declared collegium as part of the Constitution's basic structure. And so its power could not be removed even through a constitutional amendment.

How many members are there in High Court collegium?

Besides Ramana, Justices U U Lalit and A M Khanwilkar are part of the three-member Collegium which takes decisions with regard to high court judges.

Can CJI be appointed?

The Chief Justice of India and the Judges of the Supreme Court are appointed by the President under clause (2) of Article 124 of the Constitution.

Is Collegium constitutional body?

On 16 October 2015, the Constitution Bench of Supreme Court by a 4:1 majority upheld the collegium system and struck down the NJAC as unconstitutional after hearing the petitions filed by several persons and bodies with Supreme Court Advocates on Record Association (SCAoRA) being the first and lead petitioner.

What is the full form of PIL?

Public interest litigation is the use of the law to advance human rights and equality, or raise issues of broad public concern. It helps advance the cause of minority or disadvantaged groups or individuals.

What is 3rd judge case?

The Third Judges Case of 1998 is not a case but an opinion delivered by the Supreme Court of India responding to a question of law regarding the collegium system, raised by then President of India K. R. Narayanan, in July 1998 under his constitutional powers.

What are the 4 types of courts?

Types of courts

Basic distinctions must be made between criminal and civil courts, between courts of general jurisdiction and those of limited jurisdiction, and between appellate and trial courts. There are also constitutional, federal, and transnational courts.

Who is the best judge in India?

Top 3
  1. Fathima Beevi (1927 - ) With an HPI of 57.83, Fathima Beevi is the most famous Indian Judge. ...
  2. Anna Chandy (1905 - 1996) With an HPI of 55.44, Anna Chandy is the 2nd most famous Indian Judge. ...
  3. Ranjan Gogoi (1954 - ) With an HPI of 51.66, Ranjan Gogoi is the 3rd most famous Indian Judge.

What is the highest rank of judge?

chief justice, the presiding judge in the Supreme Court of the United States, and the highest judicial officer of the nation. The chief justice is appointed by the president with the advice and consent of the Senate and has life tenure.

What are the 5 types of judges?

Court roles (Legal)
  • Judge Advocate General.
  • High Court.
  • High Court Masters.
  • Circuit Judge.
  • Recorder.
  • District Judge.
  • District Judge (Magistrates Court)

Who is the head of judiciary?

The 48th and present chief justice is N. V. Ramana.

What is a Purple judge?

Circuit judges are styled His or Her Honour Judge X and are referred to as His or Her Honour. They are sometimes referred to as "purple judges" on account of their purple colour dress robes. Recorders effectively function as part-time circuit judges and are also addressed as "Your Honour".