Where is the Supreme Court located in India?

Asked by: Abbie Schinner  |  Last update: September 6, 2022
Score: 4.9/5 (26 votes)

Supreme Court of India came into existence on 26th January, 1950 and is located on Tilak Marg, New Delhi.

Where has the Supreme Court been located?

The Supreme Court Building, located at One First Street, NE, in Washington, DC, is the permanent home of the Court. Completed in 1935, the Building is open to the public Monday–Friday, 9 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. and is closed on weekends and federal holidays.

Where was the first Supreme Court located?

The Supreme Court first assembled on February 1, 1790, in the Exchange Building in New York City -- then the Nation's Capital.

Who built Supreme Court of India?

The main block of Supreme Court building was built on triangular plot of 17 Acres and the building was designed by Chief architect Ganesh Bhikaji Deolalikar who was the first Indian to head CPWD and designed Supreme Court Building in an Indo – British architectural style. He was succeeded by Shridher Krishna Joglekar.

Who is the head of Supreme Court?

Since the Supreme Court was established in 1789, 17 people have served as chief justice, beginning with John Jay (1789–1795). The current chief justice is John Roberts (since 2005).


28 related questions found

Who is Supreme Court judge name?

The current Incumbent and 48th chief justice of India is Nuthalapati Venkata Ramana, who entered office on 24 April 2021.

Who is Chief Justice of India?

NV Ramana has been appointed as the new Chief Justice of India on 6th April 2021. Sharad Arvind Bobde who took the office of Chief Justice of India on 18 November 2019 is going to retire on 23rd April 2021, the day NV Ramana will take oath as India's 48th CJI.

What is the full form of PIL?

Public interest litigation is the use of the law to advance human rights and equality, or raise issues of broad public concern. It helps advance the cause of minority or disadvantaged groups or individuals.

Which is the largest High Court in India?

biggest high court of india - Allahabad High Court
  • Asia.
  • Uttar Pradesh.
  • Allahabad District.
  • Allahabad.
  • Allahabad - Places to Visit.
  • Allahabad High Court.

How many courts are there in India?

There are four types of courts in India, i.e., Supreme Court, High Court, District Court, and subordinate courts. The seat of the Supreme court is in New Delhi.

Who is called Green judge?

Jistice Kuldip Singh became known as the green judge after he presided over a number of PILs on environmental issues. Till his retirement from the Supreme Court in 1996, he passed crucial judgements on air pollution, including specifying norms for Industries around the Taj Mahal.

How many judges are there in India?

There are 25 high courts in India. The number of total judges sanctioned in these high courts are 1108 of which 836 judges are permanent and remaining 272 sanctioned for additional judges. As of 1 June 2022, 400 of the seats, about 36%, are vacant.

What are the 3 types of court?

Types of courts

Basic distinctions must be made between criminal and civil courts, between courts of general jurisdiction and those of limited jurisdiction, and between appellate and trial courts. There are also constitutional, federal, and transnational courts.

How many judges are there in Supreme Court?

The Supreme Court of India comprises the Chief Justice and 30 other Judges appointed by the President of India.

How many judges are there in the Supreme Court?

The Supreme Court of the United States

The Constitution does not stipulate the number of Supreme Court Justices; the number is set instead by Congress. There have been as few as six, but since 1869 there have been nine Justices, including one Chief Justice.

Who is called Green Avenger of India?

M.C. Mehta single-handedly won numerous landmark judgments from India's Supreme Court since 1984, including introducing lead-free gasoline to India and reducing the industrial pollution fouling the Ganges and eroding the Taj Mahal.

Which of the following is popularly known as Doon Valley case?

State of Uttar Pradesh(1985)[4], popularly known as the Doon Valley Case, where a group of citizens wrote to the Supreme Court against the progressive mining which denuded the Mussoorie Hills of trees and forest cover and accelerated soil erosion resulting in landslides and blockage of underground water channels which ...

Which is newest state of India?

Most of the states acceded to India, and a few to Pakistan. On Monday, i.e. June 2, 2014, the country got its newest, 29th state, in Telangana. Kalvakuntla Chandrasekhara Rao has taken oath as the first chief minister of the state, separated from Andhra Pradesh.

How many states are in India?

States and Union Territories

The system of government in states closely resembles that of the Union. There are 28 states and 8 Union territories in the country. Union Territories are administered by the President through an Administrator appointed by him/her.

Who appointed the Supreme Court judges?

Kiren Rijiju is the current law minister of India. The CJI decides on his recommendation in consultation with a collegium of the four senior-most judges of the Supreme Court. If the CJI's successor is not among the senior-most judges, he/she will be made a part of the Collegium.

Which is the smallest high court in India?

सिक्किम उच्च न्यायालय

The seat of the court is at Gangtok, the administrative capital of the state. With a sanctioned court strength of 3 judges, the Sikkim High Court is the smallest High Court of India.

Which state has no High Court in India?

Which state of India does not have its own High Court? Ans. Goa, Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram and Nagaland does not have its own high court.