Which states voted for the Constitution?

Asked by: Julian Ankunding  |  Last update: August 19, 2022
Score: 4.9/5 (32 votes)

The states and the dates of ratification are listed here, in order of ratification:
  • Delaware: December 7, 1787.
  • Pennsylvania: December 12, 1787.
  • New Jersey: December 18, 1787.
  • Georgia: January 2, 1788.
  • Connecticut: January 9, 1788.
  • Massachusetts: February 6, 1788.
  • Maryland: April 28, 1788.
  • South Carolina: May 23, 1788.

Which states voted last for the Constitution?

New Hampshire becomes the ninth and last necessary state to ratify the Constitution of the United States, thereby making the document the law of the land.

How many of the 13 states voted for the Constitution?

Ratification. The process set out in the Constitution for its ratification provided for much popular debate in the States. The Constitution would take effect once it had been ratified by nine of the thirteen State legislatures; unanimity was not required.

Did all 13 states ratify the Constitution?

The Constitution was not ratified by all states until May 29, 1790, when Rhode Island finally approved the document, and the Bill of Rights was not ratified to become part of the Constitution until the end of the following year.

What 9 states ratified the Constitution?

The Constitution Is Ratified by Nine States. On June 21, New Hampshire became the ninth state to ratify the new Constitution, making its adoption official. Preceding New Hampshire were Delaware, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Georgia, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Maryland, and South Carolina.

The Right to Vote: A Constitutional History

27 related questions found

Why did only 9 states ratify the Constitution?

I, Sec. 2, Cl. 3), the Framers believed that any combination of nine states would comprise a majority of American citizens. Even if the five most populous states all refused to ratify, the remaining nine still would represent a majority of the electorate.

Who did not ratify the Constitution?

The Anti-Federalists opposed the ratification of the 1787 U.S. Constitution because they feared that the new national government would be too powerful and thus threaten individual liberties, given the absence of a bill of rights.

Which two states did not ratify the Constitution?

New Hampshire became the ninth state to approve the Constitution in June, but the key States of Virginia and New York were locked in bitter debates. Their failure to ratify would reduce the new union by two large, populated, wealthy states, and would geographically splinter it.

Which states refused to ratify the Constitution?

Rhode Island and North Carolina refused to ratify without a bill of rights. New York even went so far as to call for a second constitutional convention.

What states did not ratify the Constitution?

Rhode Island's role in the drafting and ratification of the US Constitution was unlike other states. Rhode Island was the only state not to send delegates to the Constitutional Convention in 1787.

When did all 13 states ratify the Constitution?

September 17, 1787 All 12 state delegations approve the Constitution, 39 delegates sign it of the 42 present, and the Convention formally adjourns.

How many votes did each state have for ratification of the Constitution?

The Articles had a number of weaknesses, including that each state only had one vote in Congress, and the national government had no power to tax and no ability to regulate foreign or interstate trade. In addition, there was no executive branch to enforce nationwide laws.

How many states were represented at the Constitutional Convention?

The meetings took place at Independence Hall in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Twelve of the 13 original states participated by sending delegates to the Constitutional Convention. The only state that did not participate was Rhode Island, as it was against the idea of a stronger federal government.

Who voted to ratify the Constitution?

The Founding Fathers now had to get the states to agree to the document and to vote in favor of it. Nine states needed to vote for the Constitution for it to be accepted. Each state was given six months to meet and vote on the proposed Constitution.

Which states did not ratify the Equal Rights Amendment?

The 15 states that did not ratify the Equal Rights Amendment before the 1982 deadline were Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Nevada, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Utah, and Virginia.

How many states have ratified the Equal Rights Amendment?

Listing each of the 38 states by date of ratification, the House resolution resoundingly concludes the ERA “has met the requirements of the Constitution and become valid to all intents and purposes as a part of the Constitution, and shall be known as the 'Twenty-Eight Amendment to the Constitution.

Which states voted against the Constitution because they wanted a Bill of Rights?

Amendments three through twelve were approved and went into effect on December 15, 1791, when Virginia became the eleventh state to ratify them. Massachusetts, Connecticut, and Georgia did not vote to ratify.

Why did several states refuse to approve the Constitution?

In 1788, why did several states refuse to approve the U.S. Constitution? It did not list the rights of the people.

What was the second state to ratify the Constitution?

Pennsylvania becomes the second state to ratify the Constitution (46–23).

Why did New Hampshire accepted the Constitution?

On June 21, 1788, New Hampshire played a critical role in the ratification of the U.S. Constitution, being the ninth state to accept the new form of government. That position was crucial because the Constitution required the support of nine states to go into effect.

Why did North Carolina and Rhode Island refuse to ratify the Constitution?

In short, the term original state has no constitutional significance, and it does not convey any special privileges or prerogatives. Consequently, Congress had no more authority to admit North Carolina and Rhode Island into the union through ratification than it did to admit Vermont and Kentucky in the same way.

What was the order of states to ratify the Constitution?

The essays were published in newspapers nationwide. The first state to ratify the Constitution was Delaware on December 7, 1787, followed by Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Georgia, and Connecticut.

Did North Carolina reject the Constitution?

After debating for eleven days, it became clear that the Constitution would not be ratified in North Carolina until a Bill of Rights was added. By a vote of 184 to 83, North Carolina decided not to ratify or reject the Constitution and provided a list of rights and suggested amendments for Americans.

Who signed the Constitution first?

George Washington, as president of the Convention, signed first, followed by the other delegates, grouped by states in progression from north to south.

Who is known as the Father of the Constitution?

James Madison, America's fourth President (1809-1817), made a major contribution to the ratification of the Constitution by writing The Federalist Papers, along with Alexander Hamilton and John Jay. In later years, he was referred to as the “Father of the Constitution.”