Can you sue the state of Florida for negligence?

Asked by: Dave Funk  |  Last update: November 12, 2023
Score: 4.8/5 (70 votes)

Many people are injured by agencies of the State of Florida, the County or City. When that happens, they wonder, “Can I sue the State of Florida or the government for personal injury?” The short answer is Yes, you can.

Is it possible to sue the state of Florida?

Generally speaking, the state can be sued for breach of contract and for torts (negligence and intentional wrongdoing). However, there are specific procedures which must be followed in order to sue the state, particularly when suing the state for a tort claim. The Florida Tort Claims Act sets forth this procedure.

Can you sue for negligence in Florida?

If you have suffered injuries in a car accident, slip and fall incident, or any other accident resulting from the negligence of another person or entity, you have the right to seek compensation.

How do I prove negligence in Florida?

Your attorney must be able to prove the following 4 elements of negligence in Florida to win your case:
  1. Duty: The defendant owed the injured party a duty of care. ...
  2. Breach of Duty: The defendant breached this duty of care. ...
  3. Causation: The defendant's breach must have caused the victim's injuries.

What is the statute of limitations for negligence in Florida?

For Florida personal injury cases that are founded on negligence, the statute of limitations is 2 years. Auto accidents, premises liability and wrongful death cases all have a 4-year statute of limitations. Civil injury cases that are NOT based on negligence have a 2-year statute of limitations.

Florida Lawyer Brian Denney explains the medical malpractice process

26 related questions found

What rule of law in Florida is negligence?

Florida is a comparative negligence state. This means that if a plaintiff is partially at fault for an accident in which they suffer harm, that person's recovery of damages will be reduced.

Can you get punitive damages for negligence in Florida?

Courts will award punitive damages in Florida only in cases where they decide that the defendant's actions were intentional or grossly negligent.

What 5 things are needed to prove negligence?

Negligence thus is most usefully stated as comprised of five, not four, elements: (1) duty, (2) breach, (3) cause in fact, (4) proximate cause, and (5) harm, each of which is briefly here explained.

What must be proven to win a negligence case?

Negligence claims must prove four things in court: duty, breach, causation, and damages/harm. Generally speaking, when someone acts in a careless way and causes an injury to another person, under the legal principle of "negligence" the careless person will be legally liable for any resulting harm.

What does negligence require the proof of?

Most civil lawsuits for injuries allege the wrongdoer was negligent. To win in a negligence lawsuit, the victim must establish 4 elements: (1) the wrongdoer owed a duty to the victim, (2) the wrongdoer breached the duty, (3) the breach caused the injury (4) the victim suffered damages.

Can you sue for emotional distress Florida?

You Can Sue for Emotional Distress in Florida

Unlike physical injuries that your physician can see and document, emotional damage is not visible. Your close friends and family may observe emotional changes, but it's hard to present emotional distress as the sole damage you have suffered in your case.

What are the 4 elements of negligence?

A negligence claim requires that the person bringing the claim (the plaintiff) establish four distinct elements: duty of care, breach, causation, and damages.

What is the negligence standard adopted by the state of Florida?

Under the “pure comparative negligence” doctrine in place in Florida since 1973, and codified at section 768.81, Florida Statutes, “each party is apportioned liability based on its percentage of fault.” Although it was acknowledged by the Florida Supreme Court in Hoffman that pure comparative negligence could result in ...

How do I file a civil lawsuit in the State of Florida?

You, the plaintiff, must file a “Statement of Claim” form, available at your Clerk's office. This must be fully completed and signed to receive a pre-trial conference date. If your claim is based upon written documentation, attach a copy of the contract to the Statement of Claim form. You may file by mail or in person.

How long do you have to file a lawsuit in the State of Florida?

Under Florida Statutes Annotated section 95.11, a person has four years to file a lawsuit in Florida from the date the accident/circumstance occurred. Rarely will the civil court hear a case that was not filed within this four year window of time.

What is the Florida Unfair claims Act?

Florida law defines the following acts as unfair claim settlement practices: 1. Attempting to settle claims on the basis of an application, when serving as a binder or intended to become a part of the policy, or any other material document which was altered without notice to, or knowledge or consent of, the insured.

What is the most difficult element of negligence to prove?

Causation. The third element of negligence can be the most difficult to prove in some cases. There must be a clear link between the breach of duty and the cause of the victim's injury.

What are the 5 types of negligence?

5 Types Of Negligence In A Personal Injury Claim
  • 1) Contributory Negligence. ...
  • 2) Comparative Negligence. ...
  • 3) Combination of Comparative and Contributory Negligence. ...
  • 4) Gross Negligence. ...
  • 5) Vicarious Negligence.

What is a successful negligence claim?

To succeed in an action for negligence at common law a claimant has to establish that: The defendant owed a duty to the claimant. The defendant breached the duty owed to the claimant. The defendant's breach of duty caused the claimant to suffer recoverable loss.

What are some examples of negligence?

Some common negligence case examples under this category include, but are not limited to, the following scenarios:
  • A driver runs a stop sign and slams into another car.
  • A driver operates illegally in the bicycle lane and hits a bicyclist.
  • A driver runs a red light and hits a pedestrian in a crosswalk.

What's a better word for negligence?

synonyms: neglect, neglectfulness. types: delinquency, dereliction, willful neglect. a tendency to be negligent and uncaring. laxity, laxness, remissness, slackness.

What is tort negligence?

According to Winfield and Jolowicz “Negligence is the breach of a legal duty to take care which results in damage, undesired by the defendant to the plaintiff.”

What is the statute of emotional distress in Florida?

Under Florida law, to state a cause of action for intentional infliction of emotional distress, a complaint must allege four elements: (1) deliberate or reckless infliction of mental suffering; (2) outrageous conduct; (3) the conduct caused the emotional distress; and (4) the distress was severe.

What are compensatory damages in Florida?

Legal Definition of Compensatory Damages in Florida. Damages for personal injury are typically called “compensatory damages”, meaning that they are intended to compensate injured plaintiffs for what they have lost as a result of the accident or injury.

What is willful misconduct in Florida?

(d) “Willful misconduct” means conduct evidencing carelessness or negligence of such a degree or recurrence as to manifest culpability, wrongful intent, or evil design or to show an intentional and substantial disregard of the interests of the vessel owner.